Marco Polo

Standard

Wow! It has been a bit since I’ve been able to write. I have been very busy with our move. I am very happy to report that we are officially completely moved out of our apartment and into our house that we are renting (We still have a lot of unpacking to do). I am very excited and I am the happiest I’ve been in a long time. But before I get to that I have a great story I have to share with you and I apologize for this post not being about derby.

Marco Polo

A few days before we got the keys to our new home, my best friend and I went to Target for me to get some decorating inspirations. When her and I go shopping, we tend to go our separate ways to look at things then come back together for a bit. To find each other, we recall the childhood game of “Marco Polo”. One will loudly say “Marco” and the other will call out “Polo” and the one that said “Marco” will walk towards the other one and repeat until we find each other.

Well, while at Target a little boy heard us “playing” and we heard him ask what was Marco Polo. Someone (not quite sure who) explained it to him, so he started yelling Marco to us and we would respond with Polo. We did this quite a few time before he actually found us. We didn’t realize he was really trying to find us. We started playing the game with him. We would kind of hide in different places in the store until he found us. He would yell “Marco” and we would reply “Polo.” He would run up find us and say “Found you” in the cutest voice ever and run away.

His mom was really cool about it. She laughed and thought it great we were having so much fun! She thought we were in high school not young women that are married. She said we would make great mothers with our spark to enjoy the simple things.

One of the best things about the whole thing was the Target we were at was being visited by corporate and all the big-wigs just laughed at us. They didn’t care. We also had many customers laughing at us and told us it was refreshing to see a simple childhood game being brought back to life. The thing I learned the most that day: Stop and enjoy the simple things in life. That little game with a little boy was more fun than anything I had done in a long time! The greatest thing about it: the little boy was so happy and hugged my friend and I twice before we left the store. I was actually a little sad to leave. I also regret not sharing any contact information with the mother, but then again that’s part of the magic. Maybe one day we will go back to that store and the game will start again without any planning.

Curious about some of the inspirations I got? Here are few:

IMAG0368 IMAG0394IMAG0415IMAG0397IMAG0417

My bestie photo bombed my shower curtain photo. It’s ok. I ended up getting a different one (More on that in a later post). I did end up purchasing the Welcome mat. It makes me smile every time I enter my home!

Here a few more from later that day with my hubby:

IMAG0433IMAG0434

IMAG0436IMAG0440

Doesn’t my hubby make a great model for that tray? I love the Teal birds and the Snow White Apple. I might be back for both of those when the house isn’t so chaotic with unpacking.

In my next post: I will share with you some of the new green solutions I have enacted in our new home. I am so excited to share with you! Please tune in shortly for that post. 

 

About navyderbywife

I am a Navy Wife and a Rec League Derby Girl on the mission to live with less, enjoy life to the fullest, treasure the simple things and moments, and to live an ecofriendly life to the best of my abilities without driving myself or my husband insane!

3 responses »

  1. 😀 Hahaha. This was so amazing! I hope they go to Target next time we go there! xD Maybe we can start a legacy in all the stores we go to! xD What a fun idea! And be jealous all who read this! I’m her best friend! xD

  2. Pingback: All you need is Love…. Or Stupidity with an awesome friend! « Navy Wife/Derby Girl Goes Green!

Leave a Reply

