Geocaching, A Good Friend, and A Problem

Standard

GeocachingWhew! I’ve been busy lately. Getting ready for this move is a lot of work, but I got the opportunity to take the day off on Thursday to go to the park with my husband for a command picnic. It was a beautiful day! While at the park, I got to participate in one of my new found addictions: Geocaching!

“What is Geocaching?” you may be asking. Well, “Geocaching is a real-world outdoor treasure hunting game. Players try to locate hidden containers, called geocaches, using GPS-enabled devices and then share their experiences online.” You can find more information at their website. Hubby and Ally on Geocaching Adventure

I love Geocaching so much. My husband and I started Geocaching on January 1, 2012. I/We have found 10 geocaches thus far. I haven’t gotten to do as many as I would like due to having surgery on both of my big toes and being on limited activity for about a month. Why do I love Geocaching? Well, I get to be outside, I get to use my brain to solve a problem, and who doesn’t love feeling like a secret agent finding a box of treasures and trying to not get caught by “muggles” retrieving the treasure box. The best part is the majority of the time I get to do it with my husband and the pup usually comes along, too. It is a family adventure! I am looking forward to having children and experiencing Geocaching with them!

**Side Note: A Muggle or Muggles are terms used in the Geocache community to refer to a person/people who do not play Geocaching or know what Geocaching is. We must be secretive about retrieving and replacing a geocache, because some muggles will take the whole geocache or steal things out of the geocache. While others are really cool and leave it alone or decide to join the Geocaching community. And yes, this term is borrowed from J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter Series.

*Be sure to hover over the pictures to see the captions*

As I’ve said before I am trying to make wiser decisions in our home. One of which is switching from plastic food storage containers to glass. I’m trying to move all my plastic storage containers to craft supplies instead of food, because I don’t want to waste the money I spent on the plastic containers I’ve already bought by throwing them away or donating them. I feel like I have a lot of good sturdy plastic containers that can help me organize my life outside of the kitchen. I also I am collecting all types of plastic bags to make plarn and I will crochet or knit the plarn into reusable bags for shopping.

But anyways, kind of back on topic, switching my food storage to glass. I’ve been trying to find good bulk glass containers, but all the ones I was finding had to ordered online from Europe (talk about a lot of energy to get it here) or Amazon (they ship using plastic). Please Note: I love Amazon, but in this instance I couldn’t bring myself to purchase and risk more plastic being brought into my home when I am trying to reduce it. I have also found that the Container Store carries all kinds of glass containers, but the nearest one is in Charlotte, NC. Luckily, Hubby and I are planning a trip up there in March to get a new couch and a few more pieces of furniture from Ikea to organize our new home, so I may be able to pick up a few glass containers then.

My Pretty New JarBut here I rambled on and didn’t get to my point. I was at my friend Deb’s home for dinner. I was helping her put things away when I saw this beautiful glass jar sitting empty in her pantry. I asked where she got it. She said she’s had it forever. I told her I was looking for jars like that to store my bulk pantry items and I haven’t been having any luck locating them locally. And guess what! She told me I could have it. I squealed a little! She said it’s been sitting empty for so long that if I could use it, then take it. I was so happy. I have just a little problem; I can’t make up my mind which bulk product to put in it. Packing Boxes

I’ve mentioned before that my husband and I are moving into a new home this week. I’m really, really excited, but I keep having this moral dilemma. I got a bunch of priority mail boxes from a navy wife that was pranked. She didn’t have any use for them, so I am sort of recycling them. My problem is I am using plastic tape to close them. Granted, I had 4-5 rolls of plastic tape before we even decided to move and chose to go down the green path. I’m not about to throw it out/donate it and go buy paper tape. It’s a waste of money and in this economy, we can’t afford to throw money out the window. To lessen the dilemma, I am trying to use as little tape as possible to seal the boxes. I am also thinking about trying to make plarn out of the tape when we are all unpacked. Does anyone else have any ideas of what I can do to reuse or repurpose the plastic tape when we are done, so that I’m not just throwing it away? Is plastic tape recyclable?

Well, I am glad I was able to find some time to write this blog! These ideas have been floating in my head since at least Thursday. I hope you have some good ideas for me. Stay tuned — for my next blog will feature some Roller Derby action!

2 responses »

  1. I like the idea of making plarn with the used tape. You would need to fold it in on itself so there’s not sticky stuff on the outside. You could then use it to knit reusable bags or even weave reusable bags with it.

Leave a Reply

