Hello, Green World!

Standard

This is my blog to log my adventures of going Green. You will have a little mix of Roller Derby and Navy Life.

Beginning

My life as an ecofriendly person started with two different events, but I give a little more credit to the most recent because it’s the one the really spring boarded me into committing to a change.

The first is switching to Organic Milk. I started drinking Organic Milk shortly after seeing Food Inc. and taking some culinary classes. It was also during a time were I was overly focused on losing weight. I started drinking Organic Milk and started to feel better. I wasn’t as sluggish after drinking a glass of milk or eating a bowl of cereal. I also noticed a change in my body (I am sure I will give you more history about my struggle with my weight and food another time). Now that I think about it, maybe it was three events.

The second event put an even stronger hold on my interest. I was taking a healthy baking class. One of the weeks was raw week. We made all kinds of yummy foods. We had a guest chef, who is an owner of local raw food company, come speak to us and show us some recipes. He was very inspiring and left me with a saying that I can’t say without a smile: “It’s an experience that you have to experience to experience”. I felt the best I had felt in a long time after those two days of class. Between the food and the chef, I was hooked. Granted, my husband and I don’t eat a raw or vegan or vegetarian diet. I need a few special tools to make raw food like I want to. Also, my husband and I like our animal products sparingly. We try to alternate between a meatless meal and chicken/seafood meal. Our meals usually last us about 2 days, 2 lunches and 2 dinners. We hardly ever have red meat, though we do still have it when we get a craving for it. I try to base a lot of our meals from a vegan book I got for Christmas and occasionally will add meat to the recipe or will use organic cheese instead of a vegan cheese sauce or organic butter instead of vegan margarine.

The third and springboard event was when a navy wife, that I would like to consider a friend now, posted on her Facebook page about being a hippie and taking care of her child in natural ways. Calling herself a hippie really sparked my interests, so I private messaged her asking her to clarify what she meant by calling herself a hippie. I had also seen other posts from her about other natural and healthy things, so I asked a few more questions in that message. And she replied with all kinds of answers that got my brain moving. I guess it was a little more than three… It was a whole series of events. In conjunction to this, a high school classmate posted a link to Offbeat Home. I started reading posts on there and found one about reducing plastic and it got me thinking even more and really set me on my path to doing research and finding blogs.

What is next? The Plan!

During this time, my husband and I have decided to move out of our 3bedroom/2bath apartment into a 3bedroom/2bath, 200sqft bigger house. Our current living environment is very stressful for both him and me. Just to name one: Our kitchen isn’t laid out very well, so we can’t be in there together without having to crawl over each other. I’m surprise one of us hasn’t been burnt or stabbed or cut. We get our keys to our new home on the first and so on 1-Feb-12 start a whole new chapter for my husband and I. I have a lot of plans:

  • Take as little hazardous/harsh chemicals to the new house
  • De-clutter our home through better organizing and getting rid of things we don’t use
  • Make my own cleaning supplies
  • Make my own beauty products
  • Start worm composting
  • Start growing my own herbs
  • Maybe start a garden
  • Make time for my crafts and reuse a lot of our waste
  • Watch less TV (We are canceling our Cable subscription and only watching certain shows online or Netflix)
  • Make a plan for each day and structure my days
  • Now that I’m healed (long story) get back to working out and back to skating at least twice a week.
  • Try to be more focused and more proactive in my Thirty-One business
  • Be outside more or at least have the windows open
  • Plan my trips out better – to reduce driving my car as much
  • Get use to recycling again – I am really excited about this!
  • Make our home a calm relaxing place for both of us to de-stress!

That’s just the beginning of the plan, check back soon to see how things are going.

One response »

  1. Wow I don’t know what to say! So glad I was a part of what sparked your interest in going green! It’s not always easy, but as you already know, it’s so worth it

Leave a Reply

